Our Organization

​The Tennessee Council for the Social Studies is a non-profit, professional association devoted to providing information, resources, and support for all those involved in social studies education. This includes K-12 teachers, supervisors of instruction, and college professors, in the various disciplines interested in and involved in the social studies.

Meet The Team

Joshua Kenna- President

Mark Finchum- Executive Director

Laura Simmons- Vice-President


David Huebner- Exhibit Coordinator

Jenny Shorten- Treasurer

Sherri Collie- Secretary

Leadership Team

Board of Directors

West Tennessee

Middle Tennessee

East Tennessee

  • Brandi M. Love

  • Michael Robinson

  • Jenny Shorten

  • Eddie Thompson

  • Chunmeka Wayne

  • James Akenson

  • Emily Barnes

  • Sherri Collie

  • David Huebner

  • Nicholas Knowles

  • Jeff Sellers

  • Laura Simmons

  • Linda Taylor

  • Patsy Brooks

  • ​Kurt Butefish

  • Mark Finchum 

  • Kristine Frailing

  • Dusty Helton

  • Joshua Kenna

  • Janis Adams Kyser

  • Alicia Laffoon

  • Gordon Sisk III

  • Noelle Smith

  • Brian Smith